Do you experience creative block?

aquatic soleil slim profile glass beads lori greenburgSo, I’m taking a little creative break.  Don’t panic, it won’t be that long…I’m in need of a vacation.  I’ll still be making beads because there are orders to be filled, a new show added, and I still have plenty to show you that have piled up.

I’m really just taking a break from designing for a few days.  That can be really taxing when it doesn’t click.  I know, wah wah, call a wahmbulance.  Don’t get me wrong…I’ve made some pretty cool stuff but something is still missing.

In the last few days I hit a wall and became frustrated.  Every morning I would sit at the torch and think, ‘What am I going to make today?’…what a great question to be able to ask every day!  I’m not complaining, I’m attempting to give you another peek into my process…the good and the not-so-good.  So, as I sat down I would start drawing on the work of the day before.  While I have liked some of the elements, I haven’t come up with the right combination and there is no use fighting against it, as I said in one of my interviews.  Time to practice what I preach.  It will come when it comes and this tells me that there is something else that I need to be doing.

Didn’t I say after my Tucson show that it’s time to focus on some writing for a while?  And, have I been doing that?  No.  Bad, bad me.  I was doing so well with my structure before Tucson and it all went out the window.  Time to get back on track.  Care to join me?  Oh, did I mention I went to the gym yesterday?  Yee-haw me!

Leave a Reply

