Blogging for Dollars…

green stitched glass focal bead lori greenbergYou know, I have a Yahoo! list for blogging and I’m debating closing it.  I thought it would be a great place to discuss blogging issues but sometimes our best plans…you know how that goes.  I feel that I can reach more people here so I might just start doing that.  I just hate it when that happens.

But anyway, why blogging for dollars today?  I was reading over at ProBlogger about what it takes to make money blogging.  It’s one of those weird dreams of mine where I want to make a living at something I really love but don’t want to do what it takes to achieve that.  You know, the bead you make and put on eBay and for some strange reason sells for $2000?  It’s more than dumb luck.

So, one thing you have to do is have ads on your blog.  I tried that and maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance but ew, the things it linked to.  All kinds of mass produced crap and pages of just links.  I just can’t associate my art blog with that.  So, I’d have to blog about something I didn’t care about…huh?  I’m starting to feel like an old rock and roller that won’t sell out.  But you know what happens when you say ‘never’.

The other thing you have to do is post.  A lot.  I mean, more than just once a day, and I’m thinking, when I go to my bloglines to see who has updated their blog, I go for the sites that only have one post waiting for me, not nine.  Multiple posts a day?  While I could write them, who in their right mind would want to read that much from one person?

On another note, check out www.beadnerd.com.   Don’t you love the new colors?  That’s my old site where my blog used to be and I have no idea why I just spent so much time revamping the look because all it does is hold the name and place.  For some reason I get a lot of traffic to my blog from it though.  I wonder how people are finding it and why.  Hm.

Leave a Reply

