Tales of things to come…

Purple watercolor glass silver necklaceI am EX-CI-TED!  I have had a small kiln that I bought when I was certified in PMC, oh, probably about EIGHT years ago?  Has PMC even been around that long?  Needless to say, I didn’t do much PMC and it’s been sitting around waiting around for me.  My PMC is on the way and I just cured my kiln shelves to do some fusing for the first time ever.   I have also been saving all of my test beads, ugly beads and cracked beads for this day.  Now I just need to make sure they’re really clean.  I have grand ideas and I hope they work out.  Basically, fusing some of my cracked test beads and then setting them into silver for unique clasps.  Secondly, doing some off-the-end-of-the-mandrel work and making some caps for them.  We’ll see.  We’ll see.

While I learned the basics of setting in silver via soldering, I didn’t really take to that.  But I didn’t take to PMC either…ha ha ha…so maybe the silver fabrication will click with me in about 7 years or so.   I like the organic look of the PMC and it seems easier to me because I worked so much in polymer in the past.  Whereas, I haven’t given the cutting and soldering of silver enough of a chance for me to feel proficient with it, PMC is calling me.

In the meantime, here is a cool necklace I made to match a bracelet that a customer purchased at the Bead Museum while I was the featured artist there.  While I’m not primarily a jewelry designer, I’m very happy with this!

One response to “Tales of things to come…

  1. First of all that is a cool necklace! I love how all the beads are different shapes and designs but the colors tie them all together. Very neat!

    I wish you luck with PMC! I wish it was around before I switched my degree in college from metalsmithing to ceramics. But the early PMC was much harder to work with than it is now. It is so exciting seeing all the cool stuff that can be done with it!

    Yeah, I didn’t take to metal fabricating like I thought I would either. It is the finishing and buffing that I disliked.

Leave a Reply

