Studio Series – Under counter workspace…

under counter storage solutionOnce in a while I look at my studio a little differently and remember all of the thought that went into planning it from the ground up. It’s not that big of a space (compared to others I’ve seen) so I tried to optimize every bit I could. I probably would have done that if I had 900 sq. ft. as compared to 120 or so.

Anyway, I planned to have cabinets that served to hold up the countertops but I also wanted multiple work stations…two for torching, one for computer work and one for beading. That means open leg space so a chair or stool can be use comfortably. In this picture you see the ‘beading and jewelry-making’ station. As you can see, the counter is a mess and there’s not much beading or jewelry making going on.

So, what is so significant about this that I want to write about it? Well, do you see that little wooden cart next to the stool? Not only does it have shelves for more ‘stuff’ that is easily accessible because it’s open but it is on wheels and pulls out. That means about 3 more square feet of temporary working space.

temporary work space under counter

I also did this near my torch but under the counter I put a rolling craftsman tool chest. Now, that was a great idea for the same reason…I could pull it out and use the flat surface if I need it. Unfortunately the wheels only rolled in one direction and it was not the direction I needed. So, in that instance I just pull out the top drawer and it works as a shelf to hold tools that I use frequently when I’m torching. Let me know if you need a picture of that…I can whip one out.

5 responses to “Studio Series – Under counter workspace…

  1. The acetylene torch isn’t in one of those drawers anymore, is it? LOL!

  2. ah ha ha ha ha. The day you left was the last time that torch was in that drawer!

  3. That’s good to know! 🙂 I love your site, by the way. You’ve really set it up nicely. 🙂

  4. kabababrubarta

    Nice design! kabababrubarta

  5. It’s nearly impossible to find educated people on this topic,
    however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

