Brightly colored beads…

So, here they are:

Lori Greenberg spring line beads

I haven’t name them yet but I will tell you a little about them. As you know, if you’ve followed my blog for a while, I’m not, as I once said, ‘a very bright person,’ and I would call that an Hoosier-ism or an Indiana-ism. What I meant to say was that I’m not very good at working with bright colors. There are many reasons for that…one of them being that I’m more of an earth-tone kind of person. I think it’s so interesting how I can realize things about myself and the way I work and relate them back to exact moments when I made the decision to be a certain way or the exact comment I may have heard that formed my opinion on something. So, do you want to hear about that? Of course you do. I bet you can do the same in your own life.

One of the reasons I haven’t cared much for brightly colored beads is because in my first major class (i.e., with a well-known bead maker) we were told that it’s all about the transparents and that if you wanted to make opaque, brightly colored beads you might as well work with polymer clay. Yep. Well, right at that moment I knew I didn’t have the ability to work with transparents and encasing so I decided I didn’t like bright colors. Hm.

Since then I’ve gotten a lot more experience at layering colors so watch me go now. And remember all of you teachers out there…new people (and pros I guess) have very impressionable minds and the mere fact that you’re in a position of authority (as a teacher) can leave an impression. I will try to remember that myself as I’m being asked to teach more and more…and generally just as a person that blabs a lot!

The second reason I’ve never developed into a bright colored person is my upbringing.  Somehow I picked up the notion that it’s better to blend in than to be the center of attention.  Be modest.  Bright colors go against that big time.

I’m sure there’s much more but as I sit here and type the kiln is heating up and I’m ready for another go ’round with the brights.  Working with bright colors in my ‘style’ of working is a lot more labor intensive.  It takes many many layers to achieve the colors I’m going after.  It’s not just putting down a turquoise base with red dots and some surface stringer work.  It’s laying down an opaque core or multiple colors and layering with multiple colors of transparents and even the stringer work is either encased stringer or a white band under a transparent.  Then come the dots.  No plain dots for me…they’re either layered or complex pulled cane.  Whew.  Remember my motto:  Anything under eight layers of application isn’t enough and anything over 11 is too much.  I think some of these new ones go over 11 but maybe with brights there’s an exception to my personal rule.  I’ll let you know what I find out and I experiment more.

Leave a Reply

