Reflecting on me…

Turqoise Pop Art BeadThat sounds nice and self-centered, doesn’t it?  Well, read on and you’ll see that it’s not a big ego thang.  You know, one thing about marriage (or any relationship, for that matter) is that one of it’s purposes, I believe, is to help you grow personally.  If you want it to work, you need to change, compromise, take a good hard look at yourself and sometimes stand firm and not budge.

While I know how I am, lately I’ve been noticing how my husband and I are different from a lot of couples.  While I see it as a good, fun, thing, I’m beginning to wonder if people think we’re a little crazy.  Not that we aren’t.  I’m just wondering what other people think because we interact differently.  The most noticeable thing I see is that when we’re in a room, sitting around socializing, with a bunch of other couples, we interact differently with each other than other couples do, and I think it has a lot to do with my personality.  I usually start it. 

You see, I’m pretty straight forward…my husband would call it ‘intense’.  I don’t usually mince words and I’ll say it like it is most times.  Not always, but most times.  If Steve (my husband) says something I don’t agree with (which happens a lot because I’m Libra and I tend to take the other side just because I can…I can argue both sides) I might blurt it out right there.  I’ve noticed people’s eyes bug out when I do that…almost like, ‘I can’t believe she just did that.’  The back story that people don’t have is that, if the two of us are together, we’re always talking/debating about some issue…whether it be personal, political, religious, etc and many times we don’t agree, but many we do.  Even when we agree with go on and on.  If either of us were with someone else we’d probably exhaust them and be divorced by now.  We’re best friends.  We just talk.  A lot.  More than you know because we both work from home and have access to each other about 24 hours a day.  We tease and say that we’ve been married 3 times as long as we really have been because we spend so much time together.  Don’t get me wrong…we can drive each other nuts as much as we do have fun.

Anyway, once I get it going, with people around, we tease each other about it and it’s just funny.  I can’t even explain it.  If you’ve ever been my friend, you know what I’m talking about.  Like the friend at the Tucson show that had one hard nipple and I just couldn’t help but letting her know that right in front of someone else.  ::wink wink::  Of course, I’m careful of who the someone else is but while it’s straight forward, I thought it was just hilarious, and I’d expect the same in return (just don’t be mean, because I’m not mean!) I also wouldn’t out someone like that if they couldn’t take it.

Anyway, so I’ve been thinking about that and wonder if I can be over the top…intense.  There’s more to this too…this isn’t actually what I set out to write so I’m going to have to do another post.

Leave a Reply

