Studio Tour Part IV

I realized that I never showed you pictures of the studio tour.  So, here goes.  The first picture is what is normally my beading area.  This year I decided to cover the countertops with nice fabric so it looked more “showy” and less “workshoppy”.  I think that went over well.  This area had mostly bracelets, necklaces and a few beads on cards mixed in.
Studio Tour Set Up
Next, the beads-for-sale area.  As you can see, this is the space that usually houses my bulk glass storage with a little counter space in front that is usually full of my stacks of mail.  There are nice cabinets underneath but again, this year I used fabric to cover them.  It’s nice to have people coming to your studio and liking the fixtures and such but, I’d rather talk about my beads, if you know what I mean.  I didn’t cover up the glass though because I thought the colors looked cool and might make it look like I know what I’m doing.  My high school softball coach always used to tell us, if you don’t play well, at least you can look good…therefore, make sure your uniform is clean.  

Studio Tour Set Up
And last, some window shutters that I had from a pre-glass show.  I kicked around the idea of painting them white but decided to leave them as they were and use white cards instead.  I think it worked out well, even though things look a little crooked.  This was well into the show and things needed to be straightened up.  The shutters held earrings, beads on cards, beads on cords and a display of different stringing options that I’d whip up for you on the spot.
Studio Tour Set Up
There are a couple more pictures of what the back of the house looks like with two of the other artists set up, and I can’t believe I didn’t get a picture of the front where Sharon was set up.  But, oh well, maybe next year, if she returns.
Leave a Reply

